RetroPie forum home
    • Recent
    • Tags
    • Popular
    • Home
    • Docs
    • Register
    • Login
    Please do not post a support request without first reading and following the advice in https://retropie.org.uk/forum/topic/3/read-this-first

    Guide: Advanced Controller Mappings

    Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Help and Support
    joystickcontrollermappingxboxdrvscummvm
    626 Posts 35 Posters 461.3k Views
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • mediamogulM
      mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
      last edited by mediamogul

      @ExarKunIv

      I use a trick to where I put --evdev-no-grab into an xboxdrv configuration. This allows the physical controller to still have control input that would otherwise be blocked to prevent a conflict with the xboxdrv virtual controller. Then I map every button on the virtual controller to KEY_UNKNOWN except for the right joystick, which I map to the number pad. This way, RetroArch can still make use of the original control scheme with only the right joystick being read as keyboard input.

      RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

      ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 3
      • ExarKunIvE
        ExarKunIv @mediamogul
        last edited by

        @mediamogul

        so cool

        i will give that a shot and see what i come up with
        thanks again

        RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
        RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
        Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • ExarKunIvE
          ExarKunIv
          last edited by

          here is what i got for now.

          sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv \
              --evdev /dev/input/event2 \
              --silent \
          	--detach-kernel-driver \
          	--force-feedback \
          	--mimic-xpad \
          	--dpad-as-button \
                  --deadzone 15% \
          	--trigger-as-button \
          	--evdev-no-grab \
          	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
          	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
          	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                  --ui-buttonmap a=KEY_UNKNOWN,b=KEY_UNKNOWN,start=KEY_UNKNOWN,back=KEY_UNKNOWN,x=KEY_UNKNOWN,y=KEY_UNKNOWN,lt=KEY_UNKNOWN,rt=KEY_UNKNOWN,lb=KEY_UNKNOWN,rb=KEY_UNKNOWN,tl=KEY_UNKNOWN,tr=KEY_UNKNOWN \
          	--ui-axismap x2=KEY_1:KEY_2,Y2=KEY_3:KEY_4 \
          &
          

          i dont get any errors, but still no mapping.
          the no-grab works. as my left stick works fine. i think im useing the no-grab wrong
          i'll mess around with it more tomrrow.

          RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
          RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
          Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

          mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • mediamogulM
            mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
            last edited by

            @ExarKunIv

            RetroArch may be prioritizing the virtual xboxdrv controller as player one.

            RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

            ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • ExarKunIvE
              ExarKunIv @mediamogul
              last edited by

              @mediamogul

              so i need to use this im guessing?

              
              input_remapping_directory = "/opt/retropie/configs/fba/"
              
              input_player1_joypad_index = "1"
              input_player2_joypad_index = "0"
              input_player2_analog_dpad_mode = 1
              
              #include "/opt/retropie/configs/all/retroarch.cfg"
              
              

              sorry for asking all the questions. this config stuff for me is very confusing

              RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
              RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
              Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

              mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • mediamogulM
                mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                last edited by mediamogul

                @ExarKunIv

                Not a problem. If it is that RetroArch is confusing the controller order and if we're still talking about videopac/Odyssey², then your additions are right, but they should be made in /opt/retropie/configs/videopac/retroarch.cfg which would in turn mean that the first line would be:

                input_remapping_directory = "/opt/retropie/configs/videopac/"
                

                RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • ExarKunIvE
                  ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                  last edited by

                  @mediamogul

                  ok cool

                  i will give that a shot and see if i get anything to build on

                  RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                  RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                  Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • ExarKunIvE
                    ExarKunIv
                    last edited by

                    i think this looks right from what you said

                    # Settings made here will only override settings in the global retroarch.cfg if placed above the #include line
                    
                    
                    input_device = "Xbox 360 Wireless Receiver (XBOX)"
                    input_driver = "udev"
                    input_r_y_plus_axis = "+4"
                    input_l3_btn = "9"
                    input_r_x_minus_axis = "-3"
                    input_l_btn = "4"
                    input_load_state_btn = "4"
                    input_start_btn = "7"
                    input_exit_emulator_btn = "7"
                    input_l_y_minus_axis = "-1"
                    input_up_btn = "13"
                    input_r_y_minus_axis = "-4"
                    input_a_btn = "1"
                    input_b_btn = "0"
                    input_reset_btn = "0"
                    input_down_btn = "14"
                    input_l_x_plus_axis = "+0"
                    input_l_y_plus_axis = "+1"
                    input_r_btn = "5"
                    input_save_state_btn = "5"
                    input_r2_axis = "+5"
                    input_r3_btn = "10"
                    input_right_btn = "12"
                    input_state_slot_increase_btn = "12"
                    input_key_1 = "3"
                    input_menu_toggle_btn = "3"
                    input_select_btn = "6"
                    input_enable_hotkey_btn = "6"
                    input_l_x_minus_axis = "-0"
                    input_y_btn = "2"
                    input_left_btn = "11"
                    input_state_slot_decrease_btn = "11"
                    input_r_x_plus_axis = "+3"
                    input_l2_axis = "+2"
                    
                    input_remapping_directory = "/opt/retropie/configs/videopac/"
                    
                    input_player1_joypad_index = "1"
                    input_player2_joypad_index = "0"
                    input_player2_analog_dpad_mode = 1
                    
                    #include "/opt/retropie/configs/all/retroarch.cfg"
                    
                    

                    RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                    RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                    Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • ExarKunIvE
                      ExarKunIv
                      last edited by

                      ok this is a good head turner

                      i add this to my videopac as we said

                      input_remapping_directory = "/opt/retropie/configs/videopac/"
                      
                      input_player1_joypad_index = "1"
                      input_player2_joypad_index = "0"
                      input_player2_analog_dpad_mode = 1
                      
                      #include "/opt/retropie/configs/all/retroarch.cfg"
                      

                      and it switchs my 8BitDo to player 2

                      if i change it to this

                      input_remapping_directory = "/opt/retropie/configs/videopac/"
                      
                      input_player1_joypad_index = "0"
                      input_player2_joypad_index = "1"
                      input_player2_analog_dpad_mode = 1
                      
                      #include "/opt/retropie/configs/all/retroarch.cfg"
                      

                      its player 1 again

                      and here is what i got when i ran the script

                      pi@retropie:~ $ xboxdrv 0.8.8 - http://pingus.seul.org/~grumbel/xboxdrv/
                      Copyright © 2008-2011 Ingo Ruhnke <grumbel@gmail.com>
                      Licensed under GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
                      This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
                      This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it under certain
                      conditions; see the file COPYING for details.
                      
                      
                      Your Xbox/Xbox360 controller should now be available as:
                        /dev/input/js1
                        /dev/input/event3
                      
                      Press Ctrl-C to quit
                      Shutdown complete
                      
                      

                      not really sure where to go from here.

                      RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                      RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                      Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                      mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • mediamogulM
                        mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                        last edited by

                        @ExarKunIv

                        That appears to indicate a successful launch of xboxdrv. Are you saying that it stays on that screen indefinitely? Post your script and we'll take a look.

                        RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                        ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • ExarKunIvE
                          ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                          last edited by

                          @mediamogul

                          it says up until i exit a game, turn off my controller, or press ctrl c

                          sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv \
                              --evdev /dev/input/event2 \
                              --silent \
                          	--detach-kernel-driver \
                          	--force-feedback \
                          	--mimic-xpad \
                                  --deadzone 15% \
                          	--evdev-no-grab \
                          	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
                          	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
                          	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                                  --ui-buttonmap a=KEY_UNKNOWN,b=KEY_UNKNOWN,start=KEY_UNKNOWN,back=KEY_UNKNOWN,x=KEY_UNKNOWN,y=KEY_UNKNOWN,lt=KEY_UNKNOWN,rt=KEY_UNKNOWN,lb=KEY_UNKNOWN,rb=KEY_UNKNOWN,tl=KEY_UNKNOWN,tr=KEY_UNKNOWN \
                          	--ui-axismap x2=KEY_1:KEY_2,Y2=KEY_3:KEY_4 \
                          &
                          

                          is that i manually add

                          the shutdown complete was just from me exiting the game.
                          other then no errors coming up i get no mapping down. i still need my usb keyboard in to press 1

                          RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                          RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                          Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                          mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                          • mediamogulM
                            mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                            last edited by

                            @ExarKunIv

                            I've only ever known the screen to stay like that when the '&' is left off the tail end of the xboxdrv launch script. If that were the case, pressing 'Ctrl-C' would stop xboxdrv and allow things to move forward without the map being active, which would explain why it's not accessible once the emulator is up. You've posted the command itself, but can you post it in context with how it's being launched from runcommand-onstart.sh?

                            RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                            ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                            • ExarKunIvE
                              ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                              last edited by

                              @mediamogul

                              if [ "$1" = "Videopac" ]
                              then
                              sudo killall > /dev/null 2>&1 xboxdrv
                              sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv > /dev/null 2>&1 \
                                  --evdev /dev/input/event2 \
                                  --silent \
                              	--detach-kernel-driver \
                              	--force-feedback \
                              	--mimic-xpad \
                                      --deadzone 15% \
                              	--evdev-no-grab \
                              	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
                              	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
                              	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                                      --ui-buttonmap a=KEY_UNKNOWN,b=KEY_UNKNOWN,start=KEY_UNKNOWN,back=KEY_UNKNOWN,x=KEY_UNKNOWN,y=KEY_UNKNOWN,lt=KEY_UNKNOWN,rt=KEY_UNKNOWN,lb=KEY_UNKNOWN,rb=KEY_UNKNOWN,tl=KEY_UNKNOWN,tr=KEY_UNKNOWN \
                              	--ui-axismap x2=KEY_1:KEY_2,Y2=KEY_3:KEY_4 \
                              &
                              fi
                              

                              sorry for the delay
                              busy nite

                              RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                              RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                              Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                              mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • mediamogulM
                                mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                                last edited by

                                @ExarKunIv

                                Everything appears to be OK. The only thing I can even guess is that there might be something else in runcommand-onstart.sh that may be conflicting in some way.

                                RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                • ExarKunIvE
                                  ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                                  last edited by

                                  @mediamogul

                                  ok ill pull out the other configs and see that i get

                                  RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                  RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                  Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                  • ExarKunIvE
                                    ExarKunIv
                                    last edited by ExarKunIv

                                    ok i pulled everything out of my runcommand-onstart.sh

                                    and still got nothing. so i ran cat /proc/bus/input/devices
                                    and got this

                                    cat /proc/bus/input/devices
                                    I: Bus=0005 Vendor=3810 Product=0009 Version=0100
                                    N: Name="8Bitdo FC30 Pro"
                                    P: Phys=b8:27:eb:47:c7:78
                                    S: Sysfs=/devices/platform/soc/3f201000.uart/tty/ttyAMA0/hci0/hci0:11/0005:3810:0009.0003/input/input8
                                    U: Uniq=e4:17:d8:7a:6a:7d
                                    H: Handlers=js0 event0
                                    B: PROP=0
                                    B: EV=1b
                                    B: KEY=ffff0000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
                                    B: ABS=30627
                                    B: MSC=10
                                    

                                    the event code is different. so i went in and changed it in my script

                                    if [ "$1" = "Videopac" ]
                                    then
                                    sudo killall > /dev/null 2>&1 xboxdrv
                                    sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv > /dev/null 2>&1 \
                                        --evdev /dev/input/event0 \
                                        --silent \
                                    	--detach-kernel-driver \
                                    	--force-feedback \
                                    	--mimic-xpad \
                                            --deadzone 15% \
                                    	--evdev-no-grab \
                                    	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
                                    	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
                                    	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                                            --ui-buttonmap a=KEY_UNKNOWN,b=KEY_UNKNOWN,start=KEY_UNKNOWN,back=KEY_UNKNOWN,x=KEY_UNKNOWN,y=KEY_UNKNOWN,lt=KEY_UNKNOWN,rt=KEY_UNKNOWN,lb=KEY_UNKNOWN,rb=KEY_UNKNOWN,tl=KEY_UNKNOWN,tr=KEY_UNKNOWN \
                                    	--ui-axismap x2=KEY_1:KEY_2,Y2=KEY_3:KEY_4 \
                                    &
                                    fi
                                    

                                    sadly nothing, but i can test it my controller using evtest /dev/input/event0
                                    and i get reading, but nothing showing any mapping. :(
                                    so it still seems that the --evdev-no-grab \ is working too well

                                    edit
                                    i know why the event number changed so no big on there

                                    RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                    RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                    Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                    • ExarKunIvE
                                      ExarKunIv
                                      last edited by

                                      update

                                      my mapping works, i move my right joystick and i get KEY_1, KEY_2 ect..and when i exit the evtest /dev/input/event1 goes away showing that it see that i have exited the same, and the --evdev-no-grab \ works as i can move with in the game just fine....as long as i have a usb keyboard to press 1 for me.

                                      for some reason it will not see my mapping as a valid key press

                                      now im confused.

                                      RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                      RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                      Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                      mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                      • mediamogulM
                                        mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                                        last edited by

                                        @ExarKunIv

                                        for some reason it will not see my mapping as a valid key press

                                        Ah, OK. I think I know what's wrong. Take a look at the final part of section 3A of the guide if you haven't already. It tells how to set a udev rule so that RetroArch will see the xboxdrv vitualized keyboard as being a real keyboard.

                                        RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                        ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                                        • ExarKunIvE
                                          ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                                          last edited by

                                          @mediamogul

                                          the funny thing is that i already had that, so when i looked at it again i saw my problem

                                          you have this on your guide

                                          SUBSYSTEM=="input", ATTRS{name}=="Microsoft X-Box 360 pad - Keyboard Emulation", GROUP="users", MODE="0666", ENV{ID_INPUT_KEYBOARD}="1"
                                          

                                          i had to change it to this

                                          SUBSYSTEM=="input", ATTRS{name}=="Microsoft X-Box 360 pad", GROUP="users", MODE="0666", ENV{ID_INPUT_KEYBOARD}="1"
                                          

                                          i know that i dont have a custom name but i remember what the cat /proc/bus/input/devicespulled up when i ran it whit the script going.

                                          so i think that did it, but i will have to do more testing tomorrow, but it is looking good now

                                          and as always thanks for the help

                                          RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                          RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                          Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                          mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2
                                          • mediamogulM
                                            mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                                            last edited by

                                            @ExarKunIv said in Guide: Advanced Controller Mappings:

                                            you have this on your guide... i had to change it to this

                                            I'll test that with a few controllers. It may need to be changed in the guide. Thanks for pointing it out.

                                            RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                            ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                            • First post
                                              Last post

                                            Contributions to the project are always appreciated, so if you would like to support us with a donation you can do so here.

                                            Hosting provided by Mythic-Beasts. See the Hosting Information page for more information.