• Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Home
  • Docs
  • Register
  • Login
RetroPie forum home
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Home
  • Docs
  • Register
  • Login
Please do not post a support request without first reading and following the advice in https://retropie.org.uk/forum/topic/3/read-this-first

how to install core and emulator with a script ?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Help and Support
scriptmoduleautomatedemulator instal
25 Posts 3 Posters 4.4k Views
Loading More Posts
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • W
    wsamael
    last edited by 18 Jun 2020, 21:11

    actually I install it by ES menu ( retropie_setup.sh ) one by one but it's long and boring ;) so it's why I wanna instal it with a command in a script. like that I can install by group ( arcade, computer etc. I hope you understand what I would say ;)

    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
    • M
      mitu Global Moderator
      last edited by 19 Jun 2020, 03:01

      If you wish to use the cli to call the script, then the syntax is

      sudo ./retropie_packages <scriptmodule> <function>
      

      where <function> can be one of the: sources, build, install, remove, configure, depends (may be more, but these are the main ones). These are defined in the scriptmodule as source_<module>, build_<module>, etc.
      To install lr-fceumm, you'd call

      sudo ./retropie_packages lr-fceumm depends
      sudo ./retropie_packages lr-fceumm sources
      sudo ./retropie_packages lr-fceumm build
      sudo ./retropie_packages lr-fceumm install
      sudo ./retropie_packages lr-fceumm configure
      

      If you omit the <function> parameter, running sudo ./retropie_packages <module> will run depends, build, install and configure automatically.

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • W
        wsamael
        last edited by wsamael 21 Jun 2020, 09:37

        Yyyyyyeeeeeessssss it's work great, I've install two of them with a script for test and it's ok. Thanks U so much :)

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • W
          wsamael
          last edited by 1 Jul 2020, 18:18

          i' made all my script for install every core and emulators what i want, everything works great ( tahnks again :) ) but I wanna konw if it's possible to install them by binari, beacuse with this method

          sudo ./retropie_packages XXX depends
          sudo ./retropie_packages XXX sources
          sudo ./retropie_packages XXX build
          sudo ./retropie_packages XXX install
          sudo ./retropie_packages XXX configure
          

          it's ok but very long to add them by source.

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • M
            mitu Global Moderator
            last edited by 1 Jul 2020, 18:27

            Binary install means downloading it from the RetroPie server. If you added your own (new) scripts, there's nothing to download and install. Binary installation can be run via the install_bin parameter.

            W 1 Reply Last reply 5 Jul 2020, 16:11 Reply Quote 0
            • W
              wsamael @mitu
              last edited by wsamael 7 May 2020, 17:12 5 Jul 2020, 16:11

              @mitu

              That's all ? ^^ Thank you :) I'll do that asap :)

              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • W
                wsamael
                last edited by wsamael 7 Jul 2020, 23:07 7 Jul 2020, 22:05

                sorry it's me again ;)

                i wanna complete all script and test it but i've a problem with path files for install packages

                if I install via the ES menu

                sudo ./RetroPie-Setup/retropie_setup.sh
                

                the packages are install to /home/pi/Retropie/roms/ XXX
                and If a Install via my script
                for exemple:

                sudo bash ./RetroPie-Setup/retropie_packages.sh cannonball install_bin
                
                

                the packages are install in
                /opt/retropie/ emulators,
                /opt/retropielibretrocores
                and /opt/retropie/ports

                so i some package in /home pi ..../ roms, some in opt/retropîe/ XXX

                any idea for install all packages in /home/pi/Retropie/roms with a script ? Because it's not easy to manage many roms folders in my es_system.cfg .

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • M
                  mitu Global Moderator
                  last edited by 8 Jul 2020, 02:46

                  Packages (emulators/ports/etc.) are not installed in /home/pi/RetroPie/roms - which is used for ROMs and games. The default installation location is under /opt/retropie.

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • W
                    wsamael
                    last edited by 9 Jul 2020, 11:02

                    Yes you're right ( but you know that XD ) but thé package install don't create roms folder in/home/pi... or of I install package buy es the roms folder has been create , how can i do for do the same install?

                    Where i launch my script nothing is create in /home../roms folder

                    M 1 Reply Last reply 9 Jul 2020, 12:10 Reply Quote 0
                    • M
                      mitu Global Moderator @wsamael
                      last edited by 9 Jul 2020, 12:10

                      @wsamael Sorry, I don't fully understand what it's not working. If you created your own install script and it doesn't work, then the script might be incomplete/incorrect.

                      W 1 Reply Last reply 9 Jul 2020, 17:18 Reply Quote 0
                      • T
                        Thorr69
                        last edited by 9 Jul 2020, 14:35

                        I think he means that the roms directory isn't being created for the system he is installing. If you install experimental systems through the experimental packages, the rom directory for that system is created as well.

                        I think you are right the script is incomplete. He probably needs to add something at the end to create the rom directory.

                        RPi 3b
                        Official PSU
                        Official RetroPie image
                        Pandora's Box 5 controller

                        W 1 Reply Last reply 9 Jul 2020, 17:21 Reply Quote 0
                        • W
                          wsamael @mitu
                          last edited by 9 Jul 2020, 17:18

                          @mitu said in how to install core and emulator with a script ?:

                          @wsamael Sorry, I don't fully understand what it's not working. If you created your own install script and it doesn't work, then the script might be incomplete/incorrect.

                          I try to explain what i wanna

                          If i install a package via ES menu, that install the core and create a roms folder in home/pi/ RetroPie/roms/xxx

                          And the script install the core but don't create rom folder

                          And for port package that does'nt create port folder in home/pi...

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                          • M
                            mitu Global Moderator
                            last edited by 9 Jul 2020, 17:20

                            Can you please be more specific ? Is this one of the packages included in RetroPie or something you created ? How do you - manually - run the package commands ?

                            W 1 Reply Last reply 9 Jul 2020, 17:28 Reply Quote 0
                            • W
                              wsamael @Thorr69
                              last edited by 9 Jul 2020, 17:21

                              @Thorr69
                              Probably, but I don't know how to add command Line to create roms folder especially for port package like openbor

                              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • W
                                wsamael @mitu
                                last edited by 9 Jul 2020, 17:28

                                @mitu said in how to install core and emulator with a script ?:

                                Can you please be more specific ? Is this one of the packages included in RetroPie or something you created ? How do you - manually - run the package commands ?

                                One of the package incluse in RetroPie,
                                I launch the install via Retropie_packages.sh mame2010 install_bin ( for example )

                                Mame has been installed but no rom folder in /home/pi ( Like the other package )

                                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                • M
                                  mitu Global Moderator
                                  last edited by 9 Jul 2020, 17:33

                                  From one of the previous posts:

                                  To install lr-fceumm, you'd call

                                  sudo ./retropie_packages lr-fceumm depends
                                  sudo ./retropie_packages lr-fceumm sources
                                  sudo ./retropie_packages lr-fceumm build
                                  sudo ./retropie_packages lr-fceumm install
                                  sudo ./retropie_packages lr-fceumm configure
                                  

                                  The rom folder is created as part of the last step - by the scriptmodule configure function. If you just run install_bin, that won't happen.

                                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                  • W
                                    wsamael
                                    last edited by 11 Jul 2020, 18:16

                                    ok that clear :) thank U :)
                                    can I ask you one more think about this ? :)

                                    i wanna install openbor (not official version ) but it don't install by my script.

                                    i donwload the .sh in

                                    wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/crcerror/OpenBOR-63xx-RetroPie-openbeta/master/scriptmodules/openbor-6xxx-RPi3/openbor-v6510-RPi3.sh -O- | tr -d '\r' > /home/pi/RetroPie-Setup/scriptmodules/ports/openbor-6xxx-4rpi3.sh
                                    
                                    

                                    i Launch it with

                                    sudo bash ./RetroPie-Setup/retropie_packages.sh openbor-6xxx-4rpi3 depends
                                    sudo bash ./RetroPie-Setup/retropie_packages.sh openbor-6xxx-4rpi3 sources
                                    sudo bash ./RetroPie-Setup/retropie_packages.sh openbor-6xxx-4rpi3 build
                                    sudo bash ./RetroPie-Setup/retropie_packages.sh openbor-6xxx-4rpi3 install
                                    sudo bash ./RetroPie-Setup/retropie_packages.sh openbor-6xxx-4rpi3 configure
                                    

                                    and the pi tell me
                                    " No module 'openbor-6xxx-4rpi3' found for platform rpi3 "

                                    ( i try to launch install_bin but it's not a binary version so it's not working but it's logic ;) )

                                    but if I launch by ES menu, the script is ok ,that working

                                    I'm sure is the same .sh, I try to delete it and it's disappear and if I donwload it again it come back to the ES list

                                    the command seem to be correct but i don't understand why my script dont' launch it

                                    ( it's not the most important but i wanna understand ;) )

                                    M 1 Reply Last reply 11 Jul 2020, 18:20 Reply Quote 0
                                    • M
                                      mitu Global Moderator @wsamael
                                      last edited by 11 Jul 2020, 18:20

                                      @wsamael said in how to install core and emulator with a script ?:

                                      " No module 'openbor-6xxx-4rpi3' found for platform rpi3 "

                                      Because the scriptmodule is not named openbor-6xxx-4rpi3. If you look at the file, the name is openbor-v6510-RPi3:

                                      rp_module_id="openbor-v6510-RPi3"
                                      rp_module_desc="OpenBOR - Beat 'em Up Game Engine v6510-dev (official!)"
                                      rp_module_help="Place your pak files in $romdir/ports/openbor and then run $romdir/ports/OpenBOR.sh from ports section."
                                      rp_module_licence="BSD https://raw.githubusercontent.com/crcerror/OpenBOR-Raspberry/master/LICENSE"
                                      rp_module_section="exp"
                                      rp_module_flags="!mali !x11 !kms"
                                      
                                      ...
                                      
                                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                      • W
                                        wsamael
                                        last edited by wsamael 7 Nov 2020, 21:05 11 Jul 2020, 20:01

                                        ok it's mean more logic, but i saw openbor-6xxx-4rpi3.sh in scriptmodules. So I would launch it ( like a stupid noob who I am ^^ ).

                                        Capture.JPG

                                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                        • First post
                                          Last post

                                        Contributions to the project are always appreciated, so if you would like to support us with a donation you can do so here.

                                        Hosting provided by Mythic-Beasts. See the Hosting Information page for more information.

                                          This community forum collects and processes your personal information.
                                          consent.not_received