• Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Home
  • Docs
  • Register
  • Login
RetroPie forum home
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Home
  • Docs
  • Register
  • Login
Please do not post a support request without first reading and following the advice in https://retropie.org.uk/forum/topic/3/read-this-first

Guide: Advanced Controller Mappings

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Help and Support
joystickcontrollermappingxboxdrvscummvm
626 Posts 35 Posters 461.2k Views
Loading More Posts
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • E
    ExarKunIv
    last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 17:46

    so have been playing round with getting ESC mapped for Solarus. so that way i can exit it easyly.
    my mapping works great

    if [ "$1" = "zelda_roth_se,zsdx,zsxd" ]
    then
    sudo killall > /dev/null 2>&1 xboxdrv
    sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv > /dev/null 2>&1 \
        --evdev /dev/input/event1 \
        --silent \
    	--detach-kernel-driver \
    	--force-feedback \
    	--mimic-xpad \
            --deadzone 15% \
    	--evdev-no-grab \
    	--dpad-as-button \
    	--trigger-as-button \
    	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
    	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
    	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
        --ui-buttonmap a=KEY_UNKNOWN,b=KEY_UNKNOWN,start=KEY_UNKNOWN,back=KEY_UNKNOWN,x=KEY_UNKNOWN,y=KEY_UNKNOWN,lt=KEY_UNKNOWN,rt=KEY_UNKNOWN,lb=KEY_UNKNOWN,rb=KEY_UNKNOWN,tl=KEY_UNKNOWN,tr=KEY_ESC \
    	--ui-axismap x2=void,Y2=void \
    &
    fi
    

    but only if i put it in manually. if will not auto start.

    im sure that i have something wrong with the port name

    if [ "$1" = "zelda_roth_se,zsdx,zsxd" ]
    

    i have tryed just useing Solarus but no go. any ideas?

    RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
    RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
    Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

    M 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 18:04 Reply Quote 0
    • M
      mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
      last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 18:04

      @ExarKunIv

      Try changing:

      if [ "$1" = "zelda_roth_se,zsdx,zsxd" ]
      

      to:

      if [ "$2" = "solarus" ]
      

      RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

      E 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 19:11 Reply Quote 0
      • E
        ExarKunIv @mediamogul
        last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 19:11

        @mediamogul

        thanks for getting back to me, but sadly nothing happens

        i ran cat /proc/bus/input/devices and all it pulls up is my 8BitDo.

        this is beginning to bug me

        RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
        RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
        Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

        M 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 19:34 Reply Quote 0
        • M
          mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
          last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 19:34

          @ExarKunIv

          It might be:

          if [ "$1" = "solarus" ]
          

          instead

          RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

          E 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 19:47 Reply Quote 0
          • E
            ExarKunIv @mediamogul
            last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 19:47

            @mediamogul

            tired that too, still nothing

            RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
            RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
            Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

            M 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 20:00 Reply Quote 0
            • M
              mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
              last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 20:00

              @ExarKunIv

              Try putting the following at the top of your runcommand-onstart:

              ## Name of the emulator
              echo $1 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
              
              ## Name of the software used for running the emulation
              echo $2 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
              
              ## Name of the rom
              echo $3 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
              
              ##Executed command line
              echo $4 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
              

              Then, after you launch solarus, look at your /dev/shm/runcommand.log file and list what's on the first four lines.

              RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

              E 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 20:42 Reply Quote 0
              • E
                ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 20:42

                @mediamogul

                zelda_roth_se
                solarus
                
                LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/retropie/ports/solarus/lib /opt/retropie/ports/solarus/bin/solarus_run /opt/retropie/ports/solarus/share/solarus/zelda_roth_se/
                /opt/retropie/configs/all/runcommand-onstart.sh: line 109: syntax error near unexpected token `&'
                /opt/retropie/configs/all/runcommand-onstart.sh: line 109: `&'
                Parameters: 
                Executing: LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/retropie/ports/solarus/lib /opt/retropie/ports/solarus/bin/solarus_run /opt/retropie/ports/solarus/share/solarus/zelda_roth_se/
                Solarus 1.4.5
                Opening quest '/opt/retropie/ports/solarus/share/solarus/zelda_roth_se/'
                AL lib: (WW) alc_initconfig: Failed to initialize backend "pulse"
                2D acceleration: yes
                

                ask and you will receive

                RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                M 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 20:51 Reply Quote 0
                • M
                  mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                  last edited by mediamogul 20 Feb 2017, 20:51

                  @ExarKunIv

                  Based on "solarus" being the second line,

                  if [ "$2" = "solarus" ]
                  

                  should be doing the trick. After you launch solarus with that setting, check to see if xboxdrv is at least launching alongside it from another terminal.

                  RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                  E 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 20:54 Reply Quote 0
                  • E
                    ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                    last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 20:54

                    @mediamogul

                    how do i check if xboxdrv is running.

                    and should i worry about /opt/retropie/configs/all/runcommand-onstart.sh: line 109: syntax error near unexpected token &'
                    /opt/retropie/configs/all/runcommand-onstart.sh: line 109: &'

                    RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                    RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                    Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                    M 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 21:00 Reply Quote 0
                    • M
                      mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                      last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 21:00

                      @ExarKunIv

                      how do i check if xboxdrv is running.

                      You can run top via ssh.

                      and should i worry about... line 109

                      It might be the issue here. If nothing else, it's likely to be some other issue that needs looking at. Take a look at line 109 of the runcommand-onstart.sh closely to see if anything stands out.

                      RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                      E 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 21:29 Reply Quote 0
                      • E
                        ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                        last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 21:29

                        @mediamogul

                        again thank you for the help.

                        i ran top and xboxdrv is running.
                        so i took a better look at the code. i did not see anything so i deleted

                        &
                        fi
                        

                        and copyed it from a code above and it worked. i think i had a enter before

                        &
                        fi
                        

                        would not of thought that would of done it, and

                        if [ "$2" = "solarus" ]
                        

                        works great

                        RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                        RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                        Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                        M 1 Reply Last reply 20 Feb 2017, 21:49 Reply Quote 1
                        • M
                          mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                          last edited by 20 Feb 2017, 21:49

                          @ExarKunIv

                          i think i had a enter before

                          Nice catch!

                          works great

                          Good to hear.

                          RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                          • C
                            Chillimonster
                            last edited by 1 Mar 2017, 10:00

                            Been linked to this thread whilst trying to sort Daphne / Dragonrise issues.

                            Looks like this could work.

                            Just need to get my head around how it all works and generate a config file (only 210 posts to read through!)

                            Thanks for the work that has gone into this.

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                            • E
                              EVEGames
                              last edited by 1 Mar 2017, 14:08

                              @mediamogul ,
                              This guide is a jem, thank you for creating it and monitoring this thread for the past seven months.
                              Quick question please.
                              I just switched from a wired SNES style pad to a wireless XBox360 controller, and following the instructions on the GutHub RetroPie Setup Wiki for XBox360 controllers, I was lead to believe that XPad is the way to go, due to kernel issues plaguing XBoxdrv. But I see that this thread still has people using XBoxdrv, and clearly XBoxdrv is vastly more configurable than XPad. So my question, before fully diving into this guide and applying it, is, are the warnings against using XBoxdrv unfounded? Let me put it another way, is there a single specific pitfall to avoid which would render XBoxdrv problematic? If it's about the kernel, any hints on how to determine what version of the kernel I am currently on, and how to avoid updating it in the future would be a big help. If the answer to these questions is available in the pages of this thread, please let me know that and I'll search it out.
                              Thanks!
                              -Dave

                              M 1 Reply Last reply 1 Mar 2017, 16:11 Reply Quote 0
                              • C
                                Chillimonster
                                last edited by 1 Mar 2017, 14:48

                                To save me a lot of reading can someone give me a set of simplified steps to implement this for daphne and my dragonrise zero delay encoder, or even the most relevant posts to read

                                There is a lot of stuff in here that i'm not too sure of and dont want to mess my system up (Have taken a backup just in case!)

                                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                • M
                                  mediamogul Global Moderator @EVEGames
                                  last edited by mediamogul 3 Jan 2017, 22:32 1 Mar 2017, 16:11

                                  @EVEGames

                                  are the warnings against using XBoxdrv unfounded?

                                  xboxdrv has two different modes of operation. The first acts as a tailored driver for an XBox 360 controller. It's here where there are kernel issues and if the goal is to simply get an XBox 360 controller up and running, then XPad is recommended. However, xboxdrv can also act as a mapping soltion for any controller that reports itself as a joystick event to the system, which also happens to apply to an XBox 360 controller. Using it in this way presents no kernel conflicts to my knowledge.

                                  @Chillimonster

                                  To save me a lot of reading can someone give me a set of simplified steps to implement this for daphne and my dragonrise zero delay encoder

                                  While the information is currently unfamiliar to you and seems like a lot to digest, don't let it put you off too badly. Most of the length of the guide is dedicated to detailing the minor steps that are sometimes taken for granted. Make no mistake, this is more of an advanced technique than just normally configuring your controller, but by documenting every button press and keystroke along the way, you might be surprised at how quickly it moves from top to bottom once begun.

                                  When I replied to you earlier, I took a brief look at the dragonrise zero delay encoder and what I found seemed to indicate that it identifies itself as a joystick event, which would allow it to work here. However, some encoders identify as a keyboard and cannot be mapped by xboxdrv. Fortunately, if you decide to move forward with this, you'll know in the earliest steps of the guide whether this will ultimately be possible when running evtest. If your button presses come back as BTN_ you can continue on. If they come back KEY_ then unfortunately it's not going to work, but at least you won't have wasted much time on anything.

                                  RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                  C E 2 Replies Last reply 1 Mar 2017, 16:54 Reply Quote 1
                                  • C
                                    Chillimonster @mediamogul
                                    last edited by 1 Mar 2017, 16:54

                                    @mediamogul

                                    Many thanks for the clarification on the DR encoders.

                                    Will have a play later and report back (as no doubt a config file will be of use to others if i get it working)

                                    Chris

                                    M 1 Reply Last reply 1 Mar 2017, 17:06 Reply Quote 1
                                    • M
                                      mediamogul Global Moderator @Chillimonster
                                      last edited by 1 Mar 2017, 17:06

                                      @Chillimonster

                                      a s no doubt a config file will be of use to others if i get it working

                                      Very much so.

                                      RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                      • C
                                        Chillimonster
                                        last edited by 1 Mar 2017, 18:03

                                        When i run evtest i get continuous scrolling of various text.

                                        Is there any way to stop it to get the details i need?

                                        M 1 Reply Last reply 1 Mar 2017, 18:39 Reply Quote 0
                                        • M
                                          mediamogul Global Moderator @Chillimonster
                                          last edited by mediamogul 3 Jan 2017, 18:41 1 Mar 2017, 18:39

                                          @Chillimonster

                                          Someone else recently reported the same issue with the scrolling data. Is there anyway you can report back as to exactly what information is scrolling? Does it make mention of an axis repeatedly by chance?

                                          RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                          C 1 Reply Last reply 1 Mar 2017, 19:23 Reply Quote 0
                                          • First post
                                            Last post

                                          Contributions to the project are always appreciated, so if you would like to support us with a donation you can do so here.

                                          Hosting provided by Mythic-Beasts. See the Hosting Information page for more information.

                                            This community forum collects and processes your personal information.
                                            consent.not_received