RetroPie forum home
    • Recent
    • Tags
    • Popular
    • Home
    • Docs
    • Register
    • Login
    Please do not post a support request without first reading and following the advice in https://retropie.org.uk/forum/topic/3/read-this-first

    Guide: Advanced Controller Mappings

    Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Help and Support
    joystickcontrollermappingxboxdrvscummvm
    626 Posts 35 Posters 463.1k Views
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • mediamogulM
      mediamogul Global Moderator @Capt_MorganCreek
      last edited by

      @Capt_MorganCreek

      Unfortunately, this is a situation I've never run into personally. The few controllers that I've had to use this on seemed to come into line immediately. I like your idea about multiplying the values and I'm curious myself to see what effect that would have. Also, it might be worth trying the widest possible range of values as well by adjusting the config to:

      --calibration x1=-32768:0:32767,y1=-32768:0:32767 \
      

      Definitely keep me updated.

      RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

      Capt_MorganCreekC 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • Capt_MorganCreekC
        Capt_MorganCreek @mediamogul
        last edited by Capt_MorganCreek

        @mediamogul

        Thanks for pointing me to a solution!

        I tried this calibration before, but the values were still too low. The x and y output needs to be in the 30000 range to be correctly registered. With this calibration they were around 18000 which is much better than the former ~200.
        Through trial and error I figured out if you use

        --calibration x1=-16384:0:16384,y1=-16384:0:16384 \
        

        you get really usable results in the 32000 range and everything works fine in the emulationstation controller-configuration GUI and retroarch.

        So my configuration for a real N64 controller using the HiuJia usb adapter looks like this (the deadzone probably still needs some tweaking) :

        sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv \
        	--evdev /dev/input/event2  \
        	--silent \
        	--detach-kernel-driver \
        	--force-feedback \
        	--deadzone-trigger 15% \
        	--deadzone 15% \
        	--device-name "N64 Player 1" \
        	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_RZ=x2,ABS_Z=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
        	--evdev-keymap BTN_THUMB=a,BTN_THUMB2=b,BTN_BASE=lb,BTN_BASE2=rb,BTN_BASE3=tl,BTN_BASE4=start \
        	--ui-axismap lt=void,rt=void \
        	--ui-buttonmap tr=void,guide=void,back=void,x=void,y=void \
        	--calibration x1=-16384:0:16384,y1=-16384:0:16384 \
        

        Thanks again for the awesome controller guide!

        RetroPie64 - My Nintendo 64 conversion: https://retropie.org.uk/forum/post/55927

        mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
        • mediamogulM
          mediamogul Global Moderator @Capt_MorganCreek
          last edited by

          @Capt_MorganCreek

          Not a problem. Thank you for posting your findings. I'm glad it's working well now.

          RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • mediamogulM
            mediamogul Global Moderator
            last edited by mediamogul

            I removed all references to altering emulator.cfg files for key-mapping a system/port in favor of an easily sustainable and much simpler approach using a basic if/else statement. Anyone having trouble with this in the past may wish to reexamine the process. @MadHorse's more advanced case statement technique remains the same.

            RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
            • ExarKunIvE
              ExarKunIv
              last edited by ExarKunIv

              do you need to have the latest kernel installed.
              i have kernel 4.1.21-v7+. per Xbox360 wireless controllers - receiver connectivity issues

              im also have a 8bitdo. I know that Rion had problems with getting his to work.

              im just starting out some where

              RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
              RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
              Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

              mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • mediamogulM
                mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                last edited by

                @ExarKunIv

                I believe that's only necessary when using xboxdrv as a driver for an actual Xbox controller. I've never had to worry about a particular kernel version myself.

                RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                • ExarKunIvE
                  ExarKunIv
                  last edited by

                  ok cool.

                  one less thing for me to worry about.
                  guess it is just in my coding.

                  RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                  RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                  Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • ExarKunIvE
                    ExarKunIv
                    last edited by

                    So i have been messing around trying to get to work.
                    so far i have go a whole lot of nothing.

                    I have done what the advance guide said with a little tweeking for my controler

                    here is my controler info

                    I: Bus=0005 Vendor=3810 Product=0009 Version=0100
                    N: Name="8Bitdo FC30 Pro"
                    P: Phys=b8:27:eb:47:c7:78
                    S: Sysfs=/devices/platform/soc/3f201000.uart/tty/ttyAMA0/hci0/hci0:11/0005:3810:0009.0003/input/input8
                    U: Uniq=e4:17:d8:7a:6a:7d
                    H: Handlers=js0 event2
                    B: PROP=0
                    B: EV=1b
                    B: KEY=ffff0000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
                    B: ABS=30627
                    B: MSC=10
                    
                    

                    and when i run

                    
                    ls /dev/input/by-id/
                    usb-1d57_ad02-event-kbd         usb-_Mini_Keyboard-event-kbd
                    usb-1d57_ad02-if01-event-mouse  usb-_Mini_Keyboard-if01-event-mouse
                    usb-1d57_ad02-if01-mouse        usb-_Mini_Keyboard-if01-mouse
                    
                    

                    no id for my controller so i have to use the event number

                    my script

                    #!/bin/sh
                    ## Uncomment one or all of the following if you need to find some information about the emulator or roms
                    ## Name of the emulator
                    #echo $1 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
                    
                    ## Name of the software used for running the emulation
                    #echo $2 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
                    
                    ## Name of the rom
                    #echo $3 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
                    
                    ##Executed command line
                    #echo $4 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
                    
                    
                    ### The FUN begins
                    #Get ROM name striping full path
                    rom="${3##*/}"
                    
                    ### Set variables for your joypad and emulator
                    ### Basic Configuraions - Standard controller mappings 
                    8BitDo ="/opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv >/dev/null \
                            --evdev /dev/input/event2 \
                    	--silent \
                    	--detach-kernel-driver \
                    	--force-feedback \
                    	--mimic-xpad \
                            --dpad-as-button \
                            --trigger-as-button \
                    	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
                    	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
                    	--calibration x1=-32767:0:32767,y1=-32767:0:32767,x2=-32767:0:32767,y2=-32767:0:32767"
                    
                    
                    ### Extended Configurations
                    ### Specific emulator configuration or any other parameters you will need only for some emulators
                    scummVM="--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                    	--ui-axismap x1=REL_X:10,y1=REL_Y:10 \
                    	--ui-buttonmap a=BTN_LEFT,b=BTN_RIGHT,start=KEY_F5,back=KEY_ESC \
                    	--ui-buttonmap guide=void,x=void,y=void,lb=void,rb=void,tl=void,tr=void,lt=void,rt=void,back=void \
                    	--ui-axismap x2=void"
                    
                    amiga="--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                    	--ui-axismap x2=REL_X:1,y2=REL_Y:1 \
                    	--ui-axismap x1=KEY_LEFT:KEY_RIGHT,y1=KEY_DOWN:KEY_UP \
                    	--ui-buttonmap du=KEY_UP,dd=KEY_DOWN,dl=KEY_LEFT,dr=KEY_RIGHT \
                    	--ui-buttonmap lt=BTN_LEFT,rt=BTN_RIGHT,start=KEY_ESC,back=KEY_LEFTCTRL,y=KEY_SPACE,a=KEY_LEFTCTRL,b=KEY_LEFTALT,x=KEY_LEFTSHIFT \
                    	--ui-buttonmap guide=void,tl=void,lt=void,rt=void,back=void \
                    	--ui-axismap x2=void"
                    
                    fourway="--four-way-restrictor"
                    
                    invert="--ui-buttonmap du=KEY_DOWN,dd=KEY_UP"
                    
                    ### Kill Command
                    xboxkill="sudo killall >/dev/null xboxdrv"
                    
                    ### Execute the driver with the configuration you need
                    # $1 is the name of the emulation, not the name of the software used
                    # it is intellivision not jzintv
                    case $1 in
                    
                    	mame-libretro)
                    	;;
                    
                    	fba)
                    		case $rom in
                    			"amidar.zip"|"atetris.zip"|"puckman.zip") # Configuration used only for these ROMs
                    				$xboxkill
                    				joycommand="$8BitDo $fourway &"
                    				eval $joycommand
                    			;;
                    			*) # Configuration for every other ROMs on this emulator
                    				$xboxkill
                    				joycommand="$8BitDo &"
                    				eval $joycommand
                    			;;
                    		esac
                    	;;
                    
                    	daphne)
                    	;;
                    
                    	scummvm)
                    		$xboxkill
                    		joycommand="$8BitDo $scummVM &"
                    		eval $joycommand
                    	;;
                    
                    	amiga)
                    		$xboxkill
                    		joycommand="$8BitDo $amiga &"
                    		eval $joycommand
                    	;;
                    
                    	intellivision)
                    	;;
                    esac
                    

                    My system is
                    Raspberry pi 3 running 4.1
                    im trying to get my 8Bitdo FC30 Pro to do anything, if i can get something i can build from there.

                    I have been only focused on scummVM. so i know that the other Emulators have things wrong

                    right now i have nothing.

                    RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                    RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                    Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                    mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • mediamogulM
                      mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                      last edited by mediamogul

                      @ExarKunIv

                      Since you're just focusing on ScummVM at the moment, try running the full command, minus >/dev/null from the command line and see if it launches cleanly. All together, that woud be:

                      /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv \
                      	--evdev /dev/input/event2 \
                      	--silent \
                      	--detach-kernel-driver \
                      	--force-feedback \
                      	--mimic-xpad \
                      	--dpad-as-button \
                      	--trigger-as-button \
                      	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
                      	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
                      	--calibration x1=-32767:0:32767,y1=-32767:0:32767,x2=-32767:0:32767,y2=-32767:0:32767 \
                      	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                      	--ui-axismap x1=REL_X:10,y1=REL_Y:10 \
                      	--ui-buttonmap a=BTN_LEFT,b=BTN_RIGHT,start=KEY_F5,back=KEY_ESC \
                      	--ui-buttonmap guide=void,x=void,y=void,lb=void,rb=void,tl=void,tr=void,lt=void,rt=void,back=void \
                      	--ui-axismap x2=void
                      

                      RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • ExarKunIvE
                        ExarKunIv
                        last edited by

                        @mediamogul
                        thanks for the input

                        at first i got nothing, but then i put sudo in the front and i got this

                        xboxdrv 0.8.8 - http://pingus.seul.org/~grumbel/xboxdrv/
                        Copyright © 2008-2011 Ingo Ruhnke <grumbel@gmail.com>
                        Licensed under GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
                        This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
                        This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it under certain
                        conditions; see the file COPYING for details.
                        
                        
                        Your Xbox/Xbox360 controller should now be available as:
                          /dev/input/js1
                          /dev/input/event3
                        
                        Press Ctrl-C to quit
                        

                        and it worked.
                        so it seems like i don't have the rights to have it run automatically.
                        or that is what it seems to me.

                        RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                        RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                        Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                        mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • mediamogulM
                          mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                          last edited by mediamogul

                          @ExarKunIv said in Guide: Advanced Controller Mappings:

                          so it seems like i don't have the rights to have it run automatically.

                          You are exactly right. When the guide was written, I had extra steps in there that allowed xboxdrv to run at a user level because it was necessary for a certain part. I have since revised the guide to simplify the approach and it can now be used without those extra steps and apparently I overlooked correcting the case statement to account for this. I'll amend the guide.

                          Edit: In short, just add sudo to your case statement as you did above and it should work.

                          RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2
                          • ExarKunIvE
                            ExarKunIv
                            last edited by

                            thank you so much.

                            glad that my problem will be able to help others also
                            :)

                            RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                            RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                            Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                            • ExarKunIvE
                              ExarKunIv
                              last edited by

                              still no go.

                              have been messing around with my runcommand-onstart.sh
                              and still it will not launch

                              if [ "$1" = "scummvm" ]
                              then
                              sudo killall > /dev/null 2>&1 xboxdrv
                              sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv > /dev/null 2>&1 \
                                  >/dev/null \
                                  --evdev /dev/input/event2 \
                              	--silent \
                              	--detach-kernel-driver \
                              	--force-feedback \
                              	--mimic-xpad \
                              	--dpad-as-button \
                              	--trigger-as-button \
                              	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
                              	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
                              	--calibration x1=-32767:0:32767,y1=-32767:0:32767,x2=-32767:0:32767,y2=-32767:0:32767 \
                              	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                              	--ui-axismap x1=REL_X:10,y1=REL_Y:10 \
                              	--ui-buttonmap a=BTN_LEFT,b=BTN_RIGHT,start=KEY_F5,back=KEY_ESC \
                              	--ui-buttonmap guide=void,x=void,y=void,lb=void,rb=void,tl=void,tr=void,lt=void,rt=void,back=void \
                              	--ui-axismap x2=void
                              &
                              fi
                              

                              is what i have.
                              it seems like the runcommand it not starting.

                              do i need a

                              #!/bin/sh
                              

                              at the start?

                              RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                              RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                              Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                              mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • mediamogulM
                                mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                                last edited by

                                @ExarKunIv said in Guide: Advanced Controller Mappings:

                                do i need a

                                #!/bin/sh
                                

                                at the start?

                                I would definitely try it.

                                RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                • ExarKunIvE
                                  ExarKunIv
                                  last edited by

                                  still nothing

                                  RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                  RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                  Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                  mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                  • mediamogulM
                                    mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                                    last edited by

                                    @ExarKunIv

                                    Try changing:

                                    	--ui-axismap x2=void
                                    

                                    to:

                                    	--ui-axismap x2=void \
                                    

                                    RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                    • mediamogulM
                                      mediamogul Global Moderator
                                      last edited by

                                      Also, remove the fifth line in your command:

                                          >/dev/null \
                                      

                                      RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                      ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                      • ExarKunIvE
                                        ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                                        last edited by

                                        @mediamogul

                                        that did it.

                                        the controls work great.
                                        Thank you so much

                                        a quick thing. the mouse pointer slowly moves up.
                                        where in my config would control that.

                                        #!/bin/sh
                                        
                                        if [ "$1" = "scummvm" ]
                                        then
                                        sudo killall > /dev/null 2>&1 xboxdrv
                                        sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv > /dev/null 2>&1 \
                                            --evdev /dev/input/event2 \
                                        	--silent \
                                        	--detach-kernel-driver \
                                        	--force-feedback \
                                        	--mimic-xpad \
                                        	--dpad-as-button \
                                        	--trigger-as-button \
                                        	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
                                        	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
                                        	--calibration x1=-32767:0:32767,y1=-32767:0:32767,x2=-32767:0:32767,y2=-32767:0:32767 \
                                        	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                                        	--ui-axismap x1=REL_X:10,y1=REL_Y:10 \
                                        	--ui-buttonmap a=BTN_LEFT,b=BTN_RIGHT,start=KEY_F5,back=KEY_ESC \
                                        	--ui-buttonmap guide=void,x=void,y=void,lb=void,rb=void,tl=void,tr=void,lt=void,rt=void,back=void \
                                        	--ui-axismap x2=void \
                                        &
                                        fi
                                        

                                        RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                        RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                        Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                        mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                        • mediamogulM
                                          mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                                          last edited by

                                          @ExarKunIv

                                          You can change the cursor speed by altering:

                                          --ui-axismap x1=REL_X:10,y1=REL_Y:10 \
                                          

                                          Changing the number 10 anything higher will increase the speed. It can also be brought down as low as 01 to decrease the speed as well.

                                          RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                          ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                                          • ExarKunIvE
                                            ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                                            last edited by

                                            @mediamogul

                                            again I thank you

                                            RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                            RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                            Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                            mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                                            • First post
                                              Last post

                                            Contributions to the project are always appreciated, so if you would like to support us with a donation you can do so here.

                                            Hosting provided by Mythic-Beasts. See the Hosting Information page for more information.