RetroPie forum home
    • Recent
    • Tags
    • Popular
    • Home
    • Docs
    • Register
    • Login
    Please do not post a support request without first reading and following the advice in https://retropie.org.uk/forum/topic/3/read-this-first

    Guide: Advanced Controller Mappings

    Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Help and Support
    joystickcontrollermappingxboxdrvscummvm
    626 Posts 35 Posters 461.2k Views
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • mediamogulM
      mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
      last edited by

      @ExarKunIv

      Everything appears to be OK. The only thing I can even guess is that there might be something else in runcommand-onstart.sh that may be conflicting in some way.

      RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

      ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • ExarKunIvE
        ExarKunIv @mediamogul
        last edited by

        @mediamogul

        ok ill pull out the other configs and see that i get

        RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
        RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
        Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • ExarKunIvE
          ExarKunIv
          last edited by ExarKunIv

          ok i pulled everything out of my runcommand-onstart.sh

          and still got nothing. so i ran cat /proc/bus/input/devices
          and got this

          cat /proc/bus/input/devices
          I: Bus=0005 Vendor=3810 Product=0009 Version=0100
          N: Name="8Bitdo FC30 Pro"
          P: Phys=b8:27:eb:47:c7:78
          S: Sysfs=/devices/platform/soc/3f201000.uart/tty/ttyAMA0/hci0/hci0:11/0005:3810:0009.0003/input/input8
          U: Uniq=e4:17:d8:7a:6a:7d
          H: Handlers=js0 event0
          B: PROP=0
          B: EV=1b
          B: KEY=ffff0000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
          B: ABS=30627
          B: MSC=10
          

          the event code is different. so i went in and changed it in my script

          if [ "$1" = "Videopac" ]
          then
          sudo killall > /dev/null 2>&1 xboxdrv
          sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv > /dev/null 2>&1 \
              --evdev /dev/input/event0 \
              --silent \
          	--detach-kernel-driver \
          	--force-feedback \
          	--mimic-xpad \
                  --deadzone 15% \
          	--evdev-no-grab \
          	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
          	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
          	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                  --ui-buttonmap a=KEY_UNKNOWN,b=KEY_UNKNOWN,start=KEY_UNKNOWN,back=KEY_UNKNOWN,x=KEY_UNKNOWN,y=KEY_UNKNOWN,lt=KEY_UNKNOWN,rt=KEY_UNKNOWN,lb=KEY_UNKNOWN,rb=KEY_UNKNOWN,tl=KEY_UNKNOWN,tr=KEY_UNKNOWN \
          	--ui-axismap x2=KEY_1:KEY_2,Y2=KEY_3:KEY_4 \
          &
          fi
          

          sadly nothing, but i can test it my controller using evtest /dev/input/event0
          and i get reading, but nothing showing any mapping. :(
          so it still seems that the --evdev-no-grab \ is working too well

          edit
          i know why the event number changed so no big on there

          RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
          RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
          Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • ExarKunIvE
            ExarKunIv
            last edited by

            update

            my mapping works, i move my right joystick and i get KEY_1, KEY_2 ect..and when i exit the evtest /dev/input/event1 goes away showing that it see that i have exited the same, and the --evdev-no-grab \ works as i can move with in the game just fine....as long as i have a usb keyboard to press 1 for me.

            for some reason it will not see my mapping as a valid key press

            now im confused.

            RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
            RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
            Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

            mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • mediamogulM
              mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
              last edited by

              @ExarKunIv

              for some reason it will not see my mapping as a valid key press

              Ah, OK. I think I know what's wrong. Take a look at the final part of section 3A of the guide if you haven't already. It tells how to set a udev rule so that RetroArch will see the xboxdrv vitualized keyboard as being a real keyboard.

              RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

              ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
              • ExarKunIvE
                ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                last edited by

                @mediamogul

                the funny thing is that i already had that, so when i looked at it again i saw my problem

                you have this on your guide

                SUBSYSTEM=="input", ATTRS{name}=="Microsoft X-Box 360 pad - Keyboard Emulation", GROUP="users", MODE="0666", ENV{ID_INPUT_KEYBOARD}="1"
                

                i had to change it to this

                SUBSYSTEM=="input", ATTRS{name}=="Microsoft X-Box 360 pad", GROUP="users", MODE="0666", ENV{ID_INPUT_KEYBOARD}="1"
                

                i know that i dont have a custom name but i remember what the cat /proc/bus/input/devicespulled up when i ran it whit the script going.

                so i think that did it, but i will have to do more testing tomorrow, but it is looking good now

                and as always thanks for the help

                RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2
                • mediamogulM
                  mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                  last edited by

                  @ExarKunIv said in Guide: Advanced Controller Mappings:

                  you have this on your guide... i had to change it to this

                  I'll test that with a few controllers. It may need to be changed in the guide. Thanks for pointing it out.

                  RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                  ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • ExarKunIvE
                    ExarKunIv
                    last edited by

                    well i have done testing on my end and my config works, and so do the others even with the change for the 99-xboxdrv.rules

                    here is my config for 8BitDo to work with videopac/Odyssey2

                    if [ "$1" = "videopac" ]
                    then
                    sudo killall > /dev/null 2>&1 xboxdrv
                    sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv > /dev/null 2>&1 \
                        --evdev /dev/input/event0 \
                        --silent \
                    	--detach-kernel-driver \
                    	--force-feedback \
                    	--mimic-xpad \
                            --deadzone 15% \
                    	--evdev-no-grab \
                    	--dpad-as-button \
                    	--trigger-as-button \
                    	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
                    	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
                    	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                            --ui-buttonmap a=KEY_UNKNOWN,b=KEY_UNKNOWN,start=KEY_UNKNOWN,back=KEY_UNKNOWN,x=KEY_UNKNOWN,y=KEY_UNKNOWN,lt=KEY_UNKNOWN,rt=KEY_UNKNOWN,lb=KEY_UNKNOWN,rb=KEY_UNKNOWN,tl=KEY_UNKNOWN,tr=KEY_UNKNOWN \
                    	--ui-axismap x2=KEY_1:KEY_2,Y2=KEY_3:KEY_4 \
                    &
                    fi
                    

                    just remember to do part of section 3A of the guide as @mediamogul says

                    RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                    RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                    Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 3
                    • ExarKunIvE
                      ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                      last edited by

                      @mediamogul

                      quick question
                      how do i use this for ports, i mean what do i put in the name

                      if [ "$1" = "videopac" ]
                      

                      example if i want to set a mapping for rise of the triad, do i use rott for that is the folder name, or does the word port need to be in there due to it being in the port folder?

                      hope this is clear

                      RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                      RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                      Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                      mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • mediamogulM
                        mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                        last edited by mediamogul

                        @ExarKunIv

                        $1 is the variable for the system/port name, so:

                        if [ "$1" = "rott" ]
                        

                        should do the job.

                        RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                        ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • ExarKunIvE
                          ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                          last edited by

                          @mediamogul

                          sweet
                          thanks again

                          RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                          RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                          Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                          • ExarKunIvE
                            ExarKunIv
                            last edited by

                            so have been playing round with getting ESC mapped for Solarus. so that way i can exit it easyly.
                            my mapping works great

                            if [ "$1" = "zelda_roth_se,zsdx,zsxd" ]
                            then
                            sudo killall > /dev/null 2>&1 xboxdrv
                            sudo /opt/retropie/supplementary/xboxdrv/bin/xboxdrv > /dev/null 2>&1 \
                                --evdev /dev/input/event1 \
                                --silent \
                            	--detach-kernel-driver \
                            	--force-feedback \
                            	--mimic-xpad \
                                    --deadzone 15% \
                            	--evdev-no-grab \
                            	--dpad-as-button \
                            	--trigger-as-button \
                            	--evdev-absmap ABS_X=x1,ABS_Y=y1,ABS_Z=x2,ABS_RZ=y2,ABS_HAT0X=dpad_x,ABS_HAT0Y=dpad_y \
                            	--evdev-keymap KEY_#304=a,KEY_#305=b,KEY_#307=x,KEY_#308=y,KEY_#312=lt,KEY_#313=rt,KEY_#310=lb,KEY_#311=rb,KEY_#317=tl,KEY_#318=tr,KEY_#314=back,KEY_#315=start \
                            	--axismap -Y1=Y1,-Y2=Y2 \
                                --ui-buttonmap a=KEY_UNKNOWN,b=KEY_UNKNOWN,start=KEY_UNKNOWN,back=KEY_UNKNOWN,x=KEY_UNKNOWN,y=KEY_UNKNOWN,lt=KEY_UNKNOWN,rt=KEY_UNKNOWN,lb=KEY_UNKNOWN,rb=KEY_UNKNOWN,tl=KEY_UNKNOWN,tr=KEY_ESC \
                            	--ui-axismap x2=void,Y2=void \
                            &
                            fi
                            

                            but only if i put it in manually. if will not auto start.

                            im sure that i have something wrong with the port name

                            if [ "$1" = "zelda_roth_se,zsdx,zsxd" ]
                            

                            i have tryed just useing Solarus but no go. any ideas?

                            RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                            RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                            Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                            mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                            • mediamogulM
                              mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                              last edited by

                              @ExarKunIv

                              Try changing:

                              if [ "$1" = "zelda_roth_se,zsdx,zsxd" ]
                              

                              to:

                              if [ "$2" = "solarus" ]
                              

                              RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                              ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • ExarKunIvE
                                ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                                last edited by

                                @mediamogul

                                thanks for getting back to me, but sadly nothing happens

                                i ran cat /proc/bus/input/devices and all it pulls up is my 8BitDo.

                                this is beginning to bug me

                                RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                • mediamogulM
                                  mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                                  last edited by

                                  @ExarKunIv

                                  It might be:

                                  if [ "$1" = "solarus" ]
                                  

                                  instead

                                  RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                  ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                  • ExarKunIvE
                                    ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                                    last edited by

                                    @mediamogul

                                    tired that too, still nothing

                                    RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                    RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                    Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                    mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                    • mediamogulM
                                      mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                                      last edited by

                                      @ExarKunIv

                                      Try putting the following at the top of your runcommand-onstart:

                                      ## Name of the emulator
                                      echo $1 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
                                      
                                      ## Name of the software used for running the emulation
                                      echo $2 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
                                      
                                      ## Name of the rom
                                      echo $3 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
                                      
                                      ##Executed command line
                                      echo $4 >> /dev/shm/runcommand.log
                                      

                                      Then, after you launch solarus, look at your /dev/shm/runcommand.log file and list what's on the first four lines.

                                      RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                      ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                      • ExarKunIvE
                                        ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                                        last edited by

                                        @mediamogul

                                        zelda_roth_se
                                        solarus
                                        
                                        LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/retropie/ports/solarus/lib /opt/retropie/ports/solarus/bin/solarus_run /opt/retropie/ports/solarus/share/solarus/zelda_roth_se/
                                        /opt/retropie/configs/all/runcommand-onstart.sh: line 109: syntax error near unexpected token `&'
                                        /opt/retropie/configs/all/runcommand-onstart.sh: line 109: `&'
                                        Parameters: 
                                        Executing: LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/retropie/ports/solarus/lib /opt/retropie/ports/solarus/bin/solarus_run /opt/retropie/ports/solarus/share/solarus/zelda_roth_se/
                                        Solarus 1.4.5
                                        Opening quest '/opt/retropie/ports/solarus/share/solarus/zelda_roth_se/'
                                        AL lib: (WW) alc_initconfig: Failed to initialize backend "pulse"
                                        2D acceleration: yes
                                        

                                        ask and you will receive

                                        RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                        RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                        Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                        mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                        • mediamogulM
                                          mediamogul Global Moderator @ExarKunIv
                                          last edited by mediamogul

                                          @ExarKunIv

                                          Based on "solarus" being the second line,

                                          if [ "$2" = "solarus" ]
                                          

                                          should be doing the trick. After you launch solarus with that setting, check to see if xboxdrv is at least launching alongside it from another terminal.

                                          RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                                          ExarKunIvE 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                          • ExarKunIvE
                                            ExarKunIv @mediamogul
                                            last edited by

                                            @mediamogul

                                            how do i check if xboxdrv is running.

                                            and should i worry about /opt/retropie/configs/all/runcommand-onstart.sh: line 109: syntax error near unexpected token &'
                                            /opt/retropie/configs/all/runcommand-onstart.sh: line 109: &'

                                            RPi3B+ / 200GB/ RetroPie v4.5.14, RPi4 Model B 4gb / 256gb / RetroPie 4.8.2
                                            RPi5 4gb / 512gb / RetroPie 4.8.9 -Basic
                                            Maintainer of RetroPie-Extra .

                                            mediamogulM 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                            • First post
                                              Last post

                                            Contributions to the project are always appreciated, so if you would like to support us with a donation you can do so here.

                                            Hosting provided by Mythic-Beasts. See the Hosting Information page for more information.