• Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Home
  • Docs
  • Register
  • Login
RetroPie forum home
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Home
  • Docs
  • Register
  • Login
Please do not post a support request without first reading and following the advice in https://retropie.org.uk/forum/topic/3/read-this-first

Need Help Configuring D-Pad to act as Analog Stick in Arcade Games

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Help and Support
arcadefbaanalog stickdpad
14 Posts 5 Posters 8.3k Views
Loading More Posts
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • A
    AirFreshNerd
    last edited by 23 Apr 2018, 21:28

    I'm trying to setup 8bitdo controllers(or any SNES controllers) to play arcade games that look for the analog stick. I know I can edit the autoconfig in opt/retropie/configs/all/retroarch/autoconfig for the specific controller, but I would like a global setting for any controller that gets plugged in without analog sticks to just work with the arcade games. Is this possible? Any guidance would be appreciated!

    This is the code I used for the autoconfig btw:
    input_l_y_minus_axis = "-1"
    input_l_x_plus_axis = "+0"
    input_l_y_plus_axis = "+1"
    input_l_x_minus_axis = "-0"

    D 1 Reply Last reply 24 Apr 2018, 09:49 Reply Quote 0
    • B
      barbudreadmon
      last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 09:12

      I always thought the "User X Analog To Digital" option in "quick menu > controls" was actually doing this, but it seems it actually does the reverse. To be perfectly honest, don't bother too much with this, at best you'll end up with crappy controls if you manage to play those games with d-pad.

      FBNeo developer - github - forum

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • D
        dankcushions Global Moderator @AirFreshNerd
        last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 09:49

        @airfreshnerd you could map the dpad directions to their respective analog directions during https://retropie.org.uk/docs/First-Installation/#configure-controllers

        B A 2 Replies Last reply 24 Apr 2018, 10:02 Reply Quote 0
        • B
          barbudreadmon @dankcushions
          last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 10:02

          @dankcushions said in Need Help Configuring D-Pad to act as Analog Stick in Arcade Games:

          @airfreshnerd you could map the dpad directions to their respective analog directions during https://retropie.org.uk/docs/First-Installation/#configure-controllers

          It could do the trick, most likely you'll also have to use the option i mentioned above if you do that (since digital game controls won't work with analog sticks without it)

          FBNeo developer - github - forum

          D 1 Reply Last reply 24 Apr 2018, 10:05 Reply Quote 0
          • D
            dankcushions Global Moderator @barbudreadmon
            last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 10:05

            @barbudreadmon my memory is that via the linked tool you can bind the dpad direction to both. eg, left on your dpad bound to retropad digital left, AND retropad analog left.

            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • A
              AirFreshNerd @dankcushions
              last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 14:34

              @dankcushions said in Need Help Configuring D-Pad to act as Analog Stick in Arcade Games:

              @airfreshnerd you could map the dpad directions to their respective analog directions during https://retropie.org.uk/docs/First-Installation/#configure-controllers

              I tried this, however when I try to configure the "left thumb" it says button already taken.

              I will try again later and report back.

              D 1 Reply Last reply 24 Apr 2018, 14:47 Reply Quote 0
              • D
                dankcushions Global Moderator @AirFreshNerd
                last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 14:47

                @airfreshnerd left thumb i believe is when you click in the stick on many analog controllers - you don't need to bind this one - just hold a button down to skip it :)

                A 1 Reply Last reply 24 Apr 2018, 15:19 Reply Quote 0
                • A
                  AirFreshNerd @dankcushions
                  last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 15:19

                  @dankcushions said in Need Help Configuring D-Pad to act as Analog Stick in Arcade Games:

                  @airfreshnerd left thumb i believe is when you click in the stick on many analog controllers - you don't need to bind this one - just hold a button down to skip it :)

                  Oh I thought that's what you meant about your previous post about mapping the dpad directions to their respective analog directions.

                  D 1 Reply Last reply 24 Apr 2018, 15:24 Reply Quote 0
                  • D
                    dankcushions Global Moderator @AirFreshNerd
                    last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 15:24

                    @airfreshnerd what i mean is, if you look at:

                    alt text

                    what i mean is, when it asks you to bind left analog up, you press dpad up, and when it asks you to bind d-pad up, you also press dpad up. and so on...

                    A 1 Reply Last reply 24 Apr 2018, 16:20 Reply Quote 0
                    • A
                      AirFreshNerd @dankcushions
                      last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 16:20

                      @dankcushions said in Need Help Configuring D-Pad to act as Analog Stick in Arcade Games:

                      @airfreshnerd what i mean is, if you look at:

                      alt text

                      what i mean is, when it asks you to bind left analog up, you press dpad up, and when it asks you to bind d-pad up, you also press dpad up. and so on...

                      Correct! However I'm saying that when I try to do that it says the button was already chosen and I cannot select it. It will not let me choose up on the dpad, then up on the dpad for the analog mapping.

                      D 1 Reply Last reply 24 Apr 2018, 16:37 Reply Quote 0
                      • M
                        markwkidd
                        last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 16:31

                        This will be easier to accomplish with the new remapping system in RetroArch 1.7.2 -- probably RetroPie 4.5 though. Cold comfort today I know.

                        M D 2 Replies Last reply 24 Apr 2018, 16:41 Reply Quote 0
                        • D
                          dankcushions Global Moderator @AirFreshNerd
                          last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 16:37

                          @airfreshnerd oh, hmm, you're right!
                          https://github.com/retropie/EmulationStation/blob/master/es-core/src/guis/GuiInputConfig.cpp#L386

                          this seems like a bad feature to me - i can see why you'd want one button/direction to be multiple retropad button/directions, although i can see also how it could get people into a mess if they didn't know they were doing that. i'll raise this internally - thanks!

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                          • M
                            mediamogul Global Moderator @markwkidd
                            last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 16:41

                            @markwkidd said in Need Help Configuring D-Pad to act as Analog Stick in Arcade Games:

                            This will be easier to accomplish with the new remapping system in RetroArch 1.7.2

                            I was thinking the same thing and hoped you'd chime in with a comment confirming that. As nice as a unified set of controls has always been with RetroArch, I've previously found it's ability to remap very limited. I look forward to trying it out.

                            RetroPie v4.5 • RPi3 Model B • 5.1V 2.5A PSU • 16GB SanDisk microSD • 512GB External Drive

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                            • D
                              dankcushions Global Moderator @markwkidd
                              last edited by 24 Apr 2018, 16:45

                              @markwkidd said in Need Help Configuring D-Pad to act as Analog Stick in Arcade Games:

                              This will be easier to accomplish with the new remapping system in RetroArch 1.7.2 -- probably RetroPie 4.5 though. Cold comfort today I know.

                              how would it work with this specific example? i don't know what the new retroarch stuff does, yet, so this will be an interesting example.

                              i'm thinking for retropie's initial binding, we give the users each abstracted retropad button, and they press the associated physical button they want to use for that, which seems logical so far. how would retroarch 1.7.2 change this approach?

                              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              14 out of 14
                              • First post
                                14/14
                                Last post

                              Contributions to the project are always appreciated, so if you would like to support us with a donation you can do so here.

                              Hosting provided by Mythic-Beasts. See the Hosting Information page for more information.

                                This community forum collects and processes your personal information.
                                consent.not_received